Southern Berks Regional EMS

Compassionate care, trusted treatment

Mission and Vision

Mission Statement

Southern Berks Regional EMS dedicates itself to excellence in customer service and patient satisfaction while delivering exemplary pre-hospital care to those we serve. 

Vision Statement

Southern Berks Regional EMS is committed to being a pioneering force in the field of emergency medical services. We strive to provide clinically sophisticated pre-hospital care as we keep our focus on the wellbeing of everyone we serve during every changing moment. Each quality interaction with those we serve allows us to measure our success.  

About Us

Southern Berks Regional Emergency Medical Services, Inc. is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization that provides emergency medical services to Southern Berks County. We proudly serve 9 municipalities which include Amity Township, Birdsboro Borough, Brecknock Township, Cumru Township, Kenhorst Borough, Mohnton Borough, Robeson Township, Shillington Borough, and Union Township.


Southern Berks Regional Emergency Medical Services, Inc. was established through an acquisition merger between Birdsboro Community Ambulance, Governor Mifflin Area Ambulance, and Southern Berks Paramedics in October of 1995.

Southern Berks Regional EMS is a career EMS department. We provide staffing in station 24 hours a day, seven days a week . Our personnel are certified by the Pennsylvania Department of Health as Emergency Medical Technicians, Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians, and Paramedics.

Our fleet consists of  10 ambulances, 5 Paratransit Vans, 2 EMS Squads, and a Special Operations Unit equipped with an all terrain vehicle.

Southern Berks Regional EMS has 3 stations that are located throughout our response coverage area. Station 2 serves as our main station, which includes operations and administrative offices.

Station Locations

Birdsboro Borough - Station 1
445 East Main Street
Birdsboro, Pa 19508

Cumru Township - Station 2

(Administration Offices)
769 Mountain View Road

Reading, Pa 19607

Amity Township - Station 3
14 Church Lane
Douglassville, Pa 19518

Billing Department

For all ambulance and paratransit billing inquiries please contact Conerstone Adminisystems 


Operations Staff

Timothy Musser

Chief of Operations

Chief 680

Ian Steffy

Assistant Chief of Operations

Assistant 680-1

Shawn Watrous

Assistant Chief of Operations

Assistant 680-2

Andrew Dittman


Captain 680

Mark Wenrich


Lieutenant 680

Administration Staff

Malcolm Cole

Executive Director

Grace McConahy

Michael Palamar

Director of Transportation Services

Joe Garman